Powered By Blogger

Sunday, 1 April 2012

So...here's how my PE exam went!!

My friends will know that I had two days of pe because there was a small examiner guy with a visitors' badge in a tracksuit at school last Wednesday and Thursday. He made me feel a bit taller, actually. Not much, because he still loomed waaay over my head, but to everyone else he was smallish. Anyway, on the first day I was examined in Athletics and Netball. Errm...athletics was ok, apart from the small mistake of falling over during my sprint start...although he might not have seen that, hopefully. But even if he did, the bright side still exists because my baton exchange during the relay practises were clean - thank you so much J!! (She was my very nice & helpful buddy because we were the only two girls in the exam). It was easy because she's right handed and I'm left and cause you're supposed to pass the baton to opposistes, this worked out perfectly. Shotput wasn't bad, I guess, because I walked out the circle in the right place which was a great triumphant moment for me!! (In practise I usually walk out the front).
Netball was a bit worsey, though. We got to pick our positions first, and I chose - as I always do - goal shooter. Yeah all right I'm short but I can shoot.
But before we played a game we had to do practices with the Yr 10s who were helping out because there weren't enough people to play a full game. And, yes, they were a lot taller. All of them tall and weirdly thin (I caught them eating chocolate and some sort of chewy gummy thing as they went down to the sports hall. I was too nervous to eat and lived off berry flavoured powerade the whole day.) Except one, who miss paired me with because she was only about three or four inches taller than me. She wasn't happy about it but there wasn't much she could do. This was my exam, not hers so she had to do what she was told. "You can show off when you're in your exam, next year," I said grinning at her, "but for now, play easy, right?" She nodded sullenly as she saw our pe teacher smiling and giving me thumbs-up enthusiastically.
In groups of three we did some practises. The first was shot practise: in a triangle passing with chest, shoulder, bounce and some other throws.
The second was marking: we all swapped round being the feeder, marker and the reciever. I used a sprint-dash dodge every time it was my turn to get free...and it worked well!!
The game wasn't so good, though. Remember I asked the year 10 to play easy?? She didn't. Batting the ball away, or jumping or skillfully intercepting, I lost the ball many times. Although, I did score one of the three goals our Year 11 team managed to get. The worst part came last. Us (the Year 11 examinees) lost 4-3 to the casually-taking-time-out-of-lessons-to-kick-butt-in-netball year 10s.

At the end of the 45 minute game I was insanely tired and defeated. I downed half a bottle of watered-down bright blue powerade and dragged myself off to my citizenship mock.

It's just one exam after another...

1 comment:

  1. Don't worry, after the exams you can take it easy in 6th form ;) ...oh,wait...

    :P

    ReplyDelete